Monday, May 06, 2013

Free Response Study Guide

Gov't. free response study questions

Electoral College
1. Electoral math= # of representatives in the HOR + both senators to equal the number of electors for each state. California has 53 HOR members + 2 senators= 55 electors.
2. Census taken every 10 years on the 0 year to count all of the people to reallocate the seats in the HOR based on population.
3. Selection of Electors is done by the state political parties (Democrat, Republican, Green, etc.) and usually are people who have helped their party for a long time and this is a payoff for that work.
4. Election Day! popular vote [you and me vote] we really are voting for the elector from the political party of the candidate selected. *there are 538 (this includes the nonvoting 3 from the District of Columbia) NEED 270 ELECTORAL VOTES TO WIN.
5. Count the popular vote:
a. winner take all-simple majority of the popular vote gets all electors in the state
b. at large-split the vote by Congressional district with one vote for each. Candidate who wins the most districts also gets the 2 senatorial electors. Nebraska and Maine are the only two that use this system.
6. Slate of Electors: Each party has their own electors equal to the # of HOR members and senators. Following the election, the electors from the candidates party who won get the "call" for the official Electoral vote.
7. Monday after the second Wednesday in December the electors meet in the respective state capitals for a roll call vote. The official "Certificates of Vote" are then sent to the House and Senate to be read into the Congressional Record. The POTUS is officially selected and is designated President Elect.

1. Gerrymanding is the redrawing of Congressional district lines that favor one party over the other.
2. Census every 10 years on the 0 year to chart the population movement.
-reapportion the HOR after the census.
3. State Legislatures are in charge of redrawing the lines.

How a Bill Becomes a Law
1. Introduce the bill in the HOR or Senate
-appropriation bills must start in the HOR!
2. goes to committee then subcommittee
3. discharge petition to the full HOR
4. Rules Committee
5. HOR debates then votes on bill; passes bill.....
6. bill goes to the Senate to follow the same steps
(NO Rules Committee)
7. bill passes Senate
8. bill goes to the Conference Committee...passes to...
9. Presidential action - sign - veto - pocket veto

Presidential Succession

The 25th Amendment changed succession to:
# Office Current officer
1 Vice President of the United States Joe Biden (D)
2 Speaker of the House John Boehner (R)
3 President pro tempore of the Senate Patrick Leahy (D)
4 Secretary of State John Kerry (D)
5 Secretary of the Treasury Jacob Lew (D)
6 Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel (R)
7 Attorney General Eric Holder (D)
-- Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell (D)[3]
8 Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack (D)
-- Acting Secretary of Commerce Rebecca Blank (D)[4]
-- Acting Secretary of Labor Seth Harris (D)[4]
9 Secretary of Health and Human Services Kathleen Sebelius (D)
10 Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Shaun Donovan (D)
11 Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood (R)
-- Acting Secretary of Energy Daniel Poneman (D)[4]
12 Secretary of Education Arne Duncan (D)
13 Secretary of Veterans Affairs Eric Shinseki (I)
14 Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano (D)